Business & Products

Business & Products

Sumitomo Chemical is a comprehensive chemical enterprise. There are 5 main business sectors.
Petrochemicals & Plastics Sector

Petrochemicals & Plastics Sector

The Petrochemicals & Plastics Sector meets the diverse needs of customers by providing chemical products that underpin a variety of industries. The products include synthetic resins such as polyethylene, polypropylene and polymethyl methacrylate resin, as well as raw materials for synthetic fibers and various industrial chemicals.

Energy & Functional Materials Sector

Energy & Functional Materials Sector

Sumitomo Chemical provides a wide variety of functional chemical products that contribute to reducing the environmental impact as well as to conserving energy and natural resources. Such products include alumina and aluminum used for energy-efficient products, high-performance polymer additives and rubber chemicals, as well as super engineering plastics and lithium-ion secondary battery materials used in electronic components and next-generation vehicles.

IT-related Chemicals Sector

IT-related Chemicals Sector

The IT-related Chemicals Sector supplies a wide range of products that support ICT-related industries, including optical films for liquid crystal displays (LCDs), color resists, photoresists and high-purity chemicals used in the semiconductor manufacturing process, compound semiconductors (MOEPI wafers) used for devices such as antennas switches and amplifiers of cell phones and smartphones, and aluminum sputtering targets used for semiconductor chips' wiring.

Health & Crop Sciences Sector

Health & Crop Sciences Sector

The Health & Crop Sciences Sector is engaged in the manufacture and sale of crop protection chemicals, fertilizers, feed additives, household and public hygiene insecticides, and active pharmaceutical ingredients and intermediates. By providing these products, we aim to contribute to a stable supply of crops, help increase food production in response to an increase in the world population, prevent the spread of infectious diseases, and achieve hygienic and healthy lives.

Pharmaceuticals Sector

Pharmaceuticals Sector

Sumitomo Chemical started its pharmaceuticals business as the first Japanese company to manufacture synthetic pharmaceuticals based on its advanced organic synthesis technology. At present, the company is developing the Sector through Sumitomo Dainippon Pharma Co., Ltd., engaged in the prescription pharmaceuticals business, and Nihon Medi-Physics Co., Ltd., engaged in the diagnostic pharmaceuticals business.

More Details

About the Company

住友化学的事业内容

住友化学的事业内容

住友化学是一家综合性化工企业。其主要的事业部门分为以下五大类。
石油化学部门

石油化学部门

为满足客户多样化需求,提供聚乙烯、聚丙烯、甲基丙烯酸酯树脂等合成树脂,以及合成纤维原料、各种工业化学品等各行业所需的基础化学产品。

能源・功能材料部门

能源・功能材料部门

广泛提供有助于降低环境负荷和有利于节省资源、能源的功能化学品。例如,节能产品所需要的氧化铝、铝,高性能的高分子添加剂和橡胶用化学品,以及电子零部件・下一代汽车所使用的超级工程塑料和锂离子二次电池用构件等。

情报电子化学部门

情报电子化学部门

向ICT相关产业提供液晶显示器中使用的光学薄膜和彩色光阻剂,半导体制造过程中使用的光刻胶和高纯度药品,手机和智能手机的天线及放大器等装置所使用的化合物半导体(MO外延芯片),以及半导体芯片配线材料所使用的铝靶材等。
该部门在及时提供满足客户需求的高功能、高附加值产品的同时,也致力于开发下一代技术和材料。

健康、农业相关事业部门

健康・农业相关事业部门

为了稳定供应农作物,提高粮食产量以应对世界人口增加,并为防止传染病蔓延、营造卫生舒适的居住环境等做贡献,除农药、肥料、饲料添加剂外,该部门还生产、销售家用・防疫用杀虫剂、医药原料药・中间体等产品。

医药品部门

医药品部门

住友化学以高水平的有机合成技术为基础,在日本首次生产出了合成医药品,由此医药品事业拉开序幕。该部门现以两家公司为轴心开展事业,一家是以医疗用医药品事业为中心的Sumitomo Dainippon Pharma Co.,Ltd. 另一家是以诊断用医药品事业为中心的Nihon Medi-Physics Co.,Ltd.

详细介绍

企业信息